Top 10 Failures before Success

This whole facebook craze where everyone and their mom is posting “Top 10 Ways to blah blah”, “Top 7 Ways to blah blah something else”, and my personal favorites “Top 14 Ways you are more pathetic than others” or “Top 3 Ways to be less pathetic”.  It’s starting to drive me crazy, but I read it anyway…  The other day I read a couple of them about being a small business owner- Top things small business owners do before noon, top things mentally strong people do, top things that make people succeed in business, etc. I figured maybe it wouldn’t hurt, maybe I would get something out of it, maybe it would jumpstart something.  Boy was I wrong!  I went through a couple of them and the only thing I felt at the end was shitty.  I came to the conclusion that I do not do the right things before noon, I am not mentally strong, and I will never succeed as a small business owner (and my husband wonders why I have a bottle open before he gets home…).

But then I got to thinking a little more and there is just this one tiny little thing I forgot to factor in before my depression into a bottle…. I actually AM doing the right things before noon, I actually AM mentally strong, and I actually AM a small business owner.  What I struggle with is not feeling successful.  What I would like to know, is how many times to I have to feel like I have failed (not brought home a paycheck, not had a client all week, not even a contact)… How many of these kinds of failures must I go through before I start calling it success???  Before I start feeling the success of what I have done…

I haven’t blogged in a LONG time, like 3 months I think… why?  What do I have to blog about?  The truth is that these days I count the failures more than the successes.  Yes, this is my small pity party / rant on life at the moment… but I had to start back somewhere.  I would just really like a

“TOP 10 Ways Failures become Success”

One thought on “Top 10 Failures before Success

  1. Shannon, we are in low season! I slump into a depression every year in January and February unless I schedule something to keep my mind off it. Next year will be the same. Jan/Feb should be vacation time, time to sign up for professional training, discovery tours, and all those things you’re not going to have time to do once your clients start coming. Sorry I didn’t comment on this earlier.

Leave a Reply

